1 January: On this day in 1999 the euro was born


Exactly 20 years ago, 11 European Union (EU) countries, including Spain, launched a new common currency: the euro. In the beginning as a electronic coin, and three years later, on 1 january 2002, euro banknotes and coins entered into circulation.

Today, the euro is the currency of 19 EU countries and over 340 million Europeans. It is one of the most important currencies in the world.

For more information, the European Central BankAbre en ventana nueva has set up a website to mark this anniversary.

Did you find this information useful?